2019 – 2020 CUAA Calendar:  Link

2018 – 2019 CUAA Calendar:  Link

2017 – 2018 CUAA Calendar: Link

Nominate a living Alum for a Founder’s Day Award

Nominations for the 2021 Awards are being accepted now.  Learn More


2019 Election Results

2018 Election Results.

Founding Documents

The Cooper Union Alumni Association Council, Executive Committee, Alumni Trustees, and Nominating Committee are nominated and elected annually in accordance with the Constitution and Bylaws of the Cooper Union Alumni Association. These documents also include the responsibilities of each officer and each committee and responsibilities that the CUAA has to its members.

The Constitution was updated during the 2015-2016 Year and approved by the full alumni body during the 2016 CUAA Election.  2016-CUAA-Constitution  Page explaining the Constitution Changes  2016 Constitution FAQ

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee oversees the affairs of the Cooper Union Alumni Association in accordance with policies established by the Alumni Council and its governing documents.

Officers serve on the Executive Committee

President: Margaret Matz AR’83  Term is July 1, 2019 – June 30, 2021

Officers below have the term July 1, 2019 – June 30, 2020

Secretary: Mary K. Lynch ChE ’82
Treasurer: Daniel Burke ChE’81
Vice President/Alumni Activities: Kelly Occhiuzzo Zack A’90
Vice President/Faculty and Student Liaison: Mark O’Grady A’70
Nominating Committee Chair: Kay Nordstrom ME’77

The Annual Fund Chair also serves on the Executive Committee

Annual Fund Chair: Carol Wolf A’84

The following committee chairs and co-chairs serve on the Executive Committee as non-voting members.

Annual Fund Committee Co-Chair: Kelly Smolar ME’07
Communications Committee Chair: Anthony Manganiello, CE 2006
Communications Committee Co-Chair Shankar Venkataraman, BSE 2003

Immediate 2 Past Presidents are also officers that serve on the Executive Committee

Nils Folke Anderson A’94
Paul Nikulin CE’06

Alumni Trustees serve on the Executive Committee and on The Board of Trustees

Scott Lerman A’81 (Special election, Term began June 2016 and ends in 2020)
Stephen Gerard ME’67 (Term began August 2017 and ends in 2021)
Lynn Lander ChE ’60 (Term began March 2018 and ends in 2022)
Christina Aguirre-Ross, AR ’81 (Term began December 2018 and ends in 2022 )
Aftab Hussain ME’97 (Term began summer 2019 and ends in 2023)
Elizabeth Graziolo, AR’95  (Term began December 2019 and ends in 2023)

Alumni Council

The Alumni Council oversees the development and management of a broad range of programs, events and services that enable alumni to maintain strong relationships with their fellow alumni and with Cooper Union. They provide motivation and leadership to encourage strong financial support from alumni and recognize and promote the achievements of Cooper Union alumni who have excelled in their fields and in their commitment to the college.

The Alumni Council meets at least four times a year, and Council Members are encouraged to actively participate in alumni and college events, programs and committees.

Council meetings are documented and summarized on the website. START HERE.

Council 2016-19

 Council 2017-20

Council 2018-2021

Council 2019-2022

Christina Aguirre-Ross AR’81
Ed Palacio EE’75
Hadar Cohen EE’15
Laura Spinner A’89
Ling Wei Chang EE’82
Lynn Lander ChE’60 (became Trustee)
Mark A. Vasquez ME’88
Mina Greenstein A’56
M’Liz Keefe A’85
Rachel Appel A’13
Pavel Nikulin CE’06 (became President)
Scott Wilson A’76
George DeFeis CE’84
Michael Luke CE’14
Carol Wolf A ’84
Kay Nordstrom ME ’77
Brian Rose A ’79
Kelly Smolar ME ’07/MME ’11
Darrell Low EE ’89
Tomashi Jackson A’10
Hope Wade A ’87
Scott Lyne ChE ’92/MChE ’95
Malini Ramanarayanan ChE ’00
Michael Lebron A ’76
Devora Najjar ChE ’16
Ron Vogel ChE ’01/MChE ’15.
Claudia F. Giordano, A 1976
Caitlin (Katie) Correll, ME 2012
Beatriz Ponce, ME 2011
Lily Zand, AR 1988
Daniel P. Burke, Esq., ChE 1981
Lawrence (Larry) Levine, AR 1969
Dr. James Haywood Rolling, Jr., A 1988
Shankar Venkataraman, BSE 2003
Sabeel Yosef, CE 2005 Jennifer Collins, A 1993
Bernard (Bernie) Codd, ChE 1983
Mark O’Grady, A 1976
Mark A. Vasquez, ME 1988
Laura Spinner, A 1989
Mina Greenstein, A 1956
Anthony Manganiello, CE 2006
Nanwei Chen, CE 2013
Curtis B. Wayne, AR 1975
Genevieve Martin, A 2011
Robert Kudder, CE 1967
Henry Chapman, A 2010
Mersiha Veledar, AR 2003
Scott Wilson, A 1976
Dennis Kong, IDE 2008

Past Presidents

Past Alumni Trustees

Jacob Alspector AR ’72
Nils Folke Anderson A’95
Philip Auerbach ME’51
Carmi Bee AR’67
Don Blauweiss A’61
Michael Borkowsky ME’61
Peter Cafiero CE ’83
John Clarke AR’66
Susan Eisenberg CE’62
Mark Epstein A’76
Albert Greenberg A’48
Marilyn Hoffner A’48
John Leeper AR ’85
Charles Morgan ME’68
MaryAnn Nichols A’68
Paul Nikulin CE’06
John Roswell ME’69
Peter Saltini AR’70
Carl Selinger CE’67
Don Toman EE’ 55
Robert Wagner ME’ 59
Willard Warren EE’50
Jacob Alspector AR ’72
Arnold Arlow A’54
Philip Auerbach ME’51
Carmi Bee AR’67
Don Blauweiss A’61
Michael Borkowsky ME’61
John Clarke AR’66
Tom Driscoll ME’77
Ron Drucker CE’62
Susan Eisenberg CE’62
Mark Epstein A’76
Ray Falci ME ’86
Edward Feiner AR’69
Audrey Flack A’51
Leslie Gill AR’82
Albert Greenberg A’48
Adrian Burton Jovanovic BSE’89
Alex Katz A’49
Peter Katz A’76
Roger Mosconi A’67
Jeanne Moutoussamy-Ashe A’75
Edgar Mokuvos EE ’78
Larry Ng EE’78
Peter Saltini AR’70
William Sandholm CE’63
Lee Skolnick AR’79
Kavin Slavin A’95
Sandra Spaeth A’68
Robert Tan AR’81
Roger Tucker III A’74
Anthony Tung AR’72
Willard Warren EE’50

Nominating Committee

The Nominating Committee is elected from a slate of candidates nominated at the February Council meeting by the standing CUAA Council members. Two positions are held by the most recent past presidents of the CUAA Council. The remaining positions may be held by any alumni, regardless of their current position on the council.

Committee Chairs

Committee Chairs, with the exception of the Nominating Committee, are appointed by the President from the body of current council members. The Nominating Committee Chair is held by the person who received the highest number of votes in the nominating committee election.

For all Committee details, see the Committee Page.  Anyone – council members or general alumni may serve on a committee. Only Council members can chair the standing committees, any alumna may chair an Ad Hoc committee.


As a Council member, there are a few technologies that are important for you to have access to. The following are critical for our interaction.

A full list of technologies used by the Council is here: