Founding Documents

The Cooper Union Alumni Association Council, Executive Committee, Alumni Trustees, and Nominating Committee are nominated and elected annually in accordance with the Constitution and Bylaws of the Cooper Union Alumni Association

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee oversees the affairs of the Cooper Union Alumni Association in accordance with policies established by the Alumni Council and its governing documents.


Current Term July 1, 2016 – June 30, 2017

President: Nils Folke Anderson A’94
Secretary/Treasurer: Karina Tipton CE’99
Vice President/Alumni Activities: Kelly Occhiuzzo Zack A’90
Vice President/Faculty and Student Liaison: Margaret Matz AR’83
Nominating Committee Chair: Sean Cusack BSE’98
(Ex-officio Executive Committee) Annual Fund Committee Chair: Carol Wolf A’84
(Ex-officio non-voting Executive Committee) Communications Committee Chair: Ciera Lowe ChE’14

Past Presidents

Peter Cafiero CE ’83
John Leeper AR ’85

Alumni Trustees

Kevin Slavin A ’95 (Term ends September 2017)
Robert Tan AR’81 (Term ends September 2018)
Peter Katz A’76 (Term ends September 2019)
Adrian Jovanovic BSE’98 (Special election, term begins Dec 2015)
Scott Lerman A’81 (Special election, term begins June 2016)
Stephen Gerard ME’67

Alumni Council

The Alumni Council oversees the development and management of a broad range of programs, events and services that enable alumni to maintain strong relationships with their fellow alumni and with Cooper Union. They provide motivation and leadership to encourage strong financial support from alumni and recognize and promote the achievements of Cooper Union alumni who have excelled in their fields and in their commitment to the college.

The Alumni Council meets at least four times a year, and Council Members are encouraged to actively participate in alumni and college events, programs and committees.

Council meetings are documented and summarized on the website. START HERE.

Council 2014-17

Council 2015-18

Council 2016-19

Mary K. Lynch ChE’82
Kay Nordstrom ME’77
Steven Lerner ME’75
Carol Wolf A’84
Alexis Lenza CE’05
Tiberiu (Ted) Weisz EE’71
Joe Reiter ME’96
Brian Rose A’79
George DeFeis CE’82
Michael Lebron A’76
Darrell Low EE’89
Oleg Schatoff EE’82
Bhaskar Krishnamachari EE’98
Ciera Lowe ChE’14
Claudia Giordano Lasky A’76
Darren Rogers AR’05
Ed Abaid CE’76
Gene Tulchin A’55
Ira Silfin ME’85
James Liubicich ChE’83
Paul Garrin A’82
Shankar Venkataraman BSE’03
Susan Shaw A’72
Westley Rozen AR’05
Christina Aguirre-Ross AR’81
Ed Palacio EE’75
Hadar Cohen EE’15
Laura Spinner A’89
Ling Wei Chang EE’82
Lynn Lander ChE’60
Mark A. Vasquez ME’88
Mina Greenstein A’56
M’Liz Keefe A’85
Rachel Appel A’13
Pavel Nikulin CE’06
Scott Wilson A’76

Past Presidents

Past Alumni Trustees

Jacob Alspector AR ’72
Philip Auerbach ME’51
Carmi Bee AR’67
Don Blauweiss A’61
Michael Borkowsky ME’61
Peter Cafiero CE ’83
John Clarke AR’66
Susan Eisenberg CE’62
Mark Epstein A’76
Albert Greenberg A’48
Marilyn Hoffner A’48
John Leeper AR ’85
Charles Morgan ME’68
MaryAnn Nichols A’68
John Roswell ME’69
Peter Saltini AR’70
Carl Selinger CE’67
Don Toman EE’ 55
Robert Wagner ME’ 59
Willard Warren EE’50
Edgar Mokuvos EE ’78
Jacob Alspector AR ’72
Arnold Arlow A’54
Philip Auerbach ME’51
Carmi Bee AR’67
Don Blauweiss A’61
Michael Borkowsky ME’61
John Clarke AR’66
Tom Driscoll ME’77
Ron Drucker CE’62
Susan Eisenberg CE’62
Mark Epstein A’76
Edward Feiner AR’69
Audrey Flack A’51
Leslie Gill AR’82
Albert Greenberg A’48
Ray Falci ME ’86
Alex Katz A’49
Roger Mosconi A’67
Jeanne Moutoussamy-Ashe A’75
Larry Ng EE’78
Peter Saltini AR’70
William Sandholm CE’63
Lee Skolnick AR’79
Sandra Spaeth A’68
Roger Tucker III A’74
Anthony Tung AR’72
Willard Warren EE’50

Nominating Committee

The Nominating Committee is elected from a slate of candidates nominated at the February Council meeting by the standing CUAA Council members. Two positions are held by the most recent past presidents of the CUAA Council. The remaining positions may be held by any alumni, regardless of their current position on the council.


Sean Cusack BSE’98- Chair
Barry Drogin EE’83
Darrell Low EE’89
M’Liz Keefe A’85

Mary Lynch ChE’82
Mike Essl A’96
Rachel Appel A’13
Susan Shaw A’72
Xenia Diente A’99
Yashodhan Risbud EE’92

John Leeper AR ’85 – Past President
Peter Cafiero CE’83 – Past President

Committee Chairs

Committee Chairs, with the exception of the Nominating Committee, are appointed by the President from the body of current council members. The Nominating Committee Chair is held by the person who received the highest number of votes in the nominating committee election.

For all Committee details, see the Committee Page. Anyone – council members or general alumni may serve on a committee. Only Council members can chair the standing committees, any alumna may chair an Ad Hoc committee.


As a Council member, there are a few technologies that are important for you to have access to. The following are critical for technological interaction.

  • An email account of some sort.
  • Signed up for a google account. This does NOT mean you need to have a gmail account:
  • A LinkedIn account that is connected to the CUAA group:
  • A Facebook account. You don’t have to post anything about yourself, but we use Facebook for events and communication, so consider your account to be an administrative account, so that we can share running pages and events, otherwise there’s no way to “assign” something to someone.

A full list of technologies used by the Council is here: