Margaret Deland

Margaretta Wade Campbell  was born  Feb. 23, 1857 in Allegheny, PA.  Both of her parents died while she was still a baby.  She was raised by her aunt in Maple Grove, PA.   She majored in Art at the Cooper Union. She is best known as an American writer who frequently portrayed small-town life.

For a time, she taught drawing.

She married Lorin Fuller Deland, who was a football coach at Harvard University, in 1880.  She and her husband took up the cause of unwed mothers and over a span of four years took some 60 such women and their infants into their own home.

During World War I she did relief work in France, for which she was decorated with the Legion of Honor. Small Things (1919) is a collection of her articles about her experiences in France. In later years her fiction declined in popularity, but in 1926 she was elected to the National Institute of Arts and Letters.


University: Cooper Union
University: Litt D, Bates College (1920).—

died Jan. 13, 1945, Boston, Mass.

French Legion of Honor
American Academy of Arts and Sciences

The Old Garden (1886, poetry)
John Ward, Preacher (1888, novel)
Mr. Tommy Dove, and Other Stories (1893, short stories)
Old Chester Tales (1899, short stories)
Dr. Lavendar’s People (1903, novel)
The Awakening of Helena Richie (1906, novel)
The Iron Woman (1911, novel)
Partners (1913, novel)
Around Old Chester (1915, short stories)
Small Things (1919, essays)
The Promises of Alice (1919, novel)
The Vehement Flame (1922, novel)
New Friends in Old Chester (1924, short stories)
Captain Archer’s Daughter (1932, novel)
Old Chester Days (1935, short stories)
If This Be I, As I Suppose It Be (1935, memoir)
Golden Yesterdays (1941, memoir)


NNDB Entry for Margaret Deland,  Copyright ©2014 Soylent Communications Link

Encyclopædia Britannica  Entry for Margaret Deland — American Author, Link