2017 CUAA Awards Ceremony

The CUAA Awards evening began with a cocktail hour that included light refreshments in the foyer space outside the 41 Cooper Square Gallery and in room LL01.


The Founder’s Day Awards were awarded in an award ceremony held in Rose Auditorium on June 2nd, 2017.


The welcome speech was given by David Minder, Director of Engagement.  This was followed by opening remarks from Nils Folke Anderson, CUAA President.  Nils thanks the many alumni who have served on the four award committees and the members of the events committee who worked to put on this event.

Norman Hathaway gave a presentation that explained the importance of the work of Victor Moscoso A’57 using a slideshow of some of his work.  And he presented Victor with the Augustus Saint Gaudens’ Award.


Victor Moscoso A’57 told a delightful story about his time in San Francisco during the 1960s and gave some background for some of his most iconic works.


Wes Rozen AR’05 introduced James Cathcart who works with the 2017 John J. Hejduk award winner, Mark West AR’80.  James Cathcart made some brief remarks and showed a video that explained CA.S.T. the first research laboratory in the world for architecture which Mark West founded, and also explained the impact of Mark’s inventions.  Mark West is the inventor of many unique process for fabricating concrete beam structures.  He has worked as a professor, reseacher, and builder for over 30 years.  He currently teaches at the University of Manitoba.







Andre Luboff CE’75 introduced his classmate and good friend, Ronald Brookmeyer Math’75, who is the 2017 Gano Dunn Award recipient.

Ron Brookmeyer is Professor of Biostatistics in the Fielding School of Public Health of the University of California, Los Angeles.  Ronald gave an interesting presentation that included slides from his work tracking and predicting the progression of 3 health scares that the public is familiar with — the aids crisis, the 2001 anthrax scare, and the imminent Alzheimer’s epidemic.





Elaine Maldonado A’68 introduced her husband, Agustin (Tim) Maldonado AR’66, who is the 2017 Peter Cooper Public Service Award recipient.

Tim Maldonado has been a Professor at New York City College of Technology / The City University of New York since 1974. He has served as Chair, Architectural Technology Department for 18 years.  He has, and continues to, inspire students to understand the role of architect in a greater context that includes public service.  He has helped many architecture students understand civic responsibility and appreciate their special roles as architects in the ongoing betterment of our city and the environment in which we live.

Tim has provided pro-bono design services to Medical Mission International, a group of doctors and surgeons working in El Salvador who are built a  facility to house a surgical center, accompanying housing, a school, workshops and support facilities.  The surgical center was designed by one of Tim’s students as a class project.  CUNY University produced a short documentary about this extraordinary project which was shown during the award ceremony.


Mina Greenstein A’58 introduced Carol Wolf A’84 who is the 2017 recipient of the Alumna of the Year Award.

Carol has worked tirelessly on many projects since 2011 related to first trying to preserve free tuition, and then trying to return to Tuition free.  She has never taken her eye off that goal.  She was a vocal supporter of the Committee to Save Cooper Union, assisted with the Free Since 1859 campaign, and for the past 2 years, she has served as the Chair of the CUAA’s Annual Fund Committee.”

Carol’s speech can be seen here.




Paul Nikulin CE’06 introduced James Liubicich’83 who is the 2017 recipient of the Alumnus of the Year Award.

Jim has been active in the
CUAA since 2013.  He is a member of the Chicago Regional Group and has help arrange some of the Chicago events.  He was elected to the CUAA council in 2015.  Jim chaired the Constitution Committee and he chaired the Membership committee.  He was also a member of the 501C3 committee.






Kelly Smolar ME’07 introduced Ciera Lowe ChE’14 who is the 2017 recipient of the Young Alumna of the Year Award.  Ciera Lowe was a member of the Student Council for 4 years and was a liason to the CUAA during that period.  She was one of the first Student Trustees to serve on Cooper Union’s B.O.T.  For two years she has served as chair of the CUAA communications committee.  She has also served as a moderator during CUAA forums.




Following the award ceremony there were refreshments on the alumni terrace.

The Events committee, consisting of Kelly Occhiuzzo Zack and Alexis Lenza, planned the event.  The program was put together by Don Blauweiss.


More Photos

Would you like to help choose the 2018 CUAA Founder’s Day Awardees?

The selection process begins each year in September.  That is when the Award committees are forming and when nominations are being solicited.  Nominations will continued to be solicited through October.  The Award committees meet and deliberate during November and December.  There are 4 Award Committees:  Augustus Saint Gaudens, John J. Hejduk, Gano Dunn, and Peter Cooper Public Service Award.  If you have an interest in joining one of these committees, please send the CUAA an email at contact@cooperalumni.org.