Carin Goldberg, A’75

carin goldbergCarin Goldberg A’75 is a graphic designer, publication designer and brand consultant. After graduating from The Cooper Union, she worked as a staff designer at CBS Television, CBS Records and Atlantic Records before establishing her firm, Carin Goldberg Design, in 1982. Over the following two decades she designed hundreds of book jackets for every major American publishing house, including Simon & Schuster, Random House, Alfred A. Knopf, Farrar Straus & Giroux, Harper Collins and Doubleday. She has designed dozens of album covers for record labels such as Warner Bros., Motown, Nonesuch, EMI and Sony (formerly CBS) Records.

The breadth of her work covers artists as diverse as Kurt Vonnegut and Susan Sontag, Steve Reich and Madonna. Goldberg has been featured in Time, The New Yorker, The New York Times, and AdWeek. Among her awards are a Silver Medal from the Art Directors Club, the Literary Marketplace Award and the 2009 American Institute of Graphic Arts (AIGA) Gold Medal. Goldberg’s work has appeared in landmark surveys, such as the Graphic Design in America at the Walker Art Center (1989), Mixing Messages at the Cooper-Hewitt National Design Museum (1996) and By Its Cover: Modern American Book Cover Design, published by Princeton Architectural Press (2005).

Goldberg, Carin - Image - History of Blues

History of Blues by Carin Goldberg

She has taught at the School of Visual Arts for twenty-seven years. Her works are in the permanent collections of the Bibliothèque Nationale de France in Paris, the Cooper-Hewitt Museum in New York and the Hong Kong Heritage Museum in China. Goldberg served as president of the AIGA New York Chapter from 2006 to 2008. She is one of the first recipients of the Art Directors Club Grandmasters Award for Excellence in Education (2008). A retrospective of her work and career was exhibited at Musée Géo-Charles, Échirolles, France.  In 2014, Carin Goldberg won the Cynthia Hazen Polsky and Leon Polsky Rome Prize for design.

Carin Goldberg received the 2009 President’s Citation and the 2012 Augustus Saint-Gaudens Award.  She was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2009.

Carin passed away in January 2023.